top of page

About Us

Our Mission

Our Mission

Safe Space is a non-profit organization that is committed to reducing relationship violence and sexual assault in Franklin County, North Carolina and nearby communities. Since 1995, we have assisted hundreds of domestic violence and sexual assault survivors and their children.

Visit our services page to learn more about what we do.


Our Action Statement

Safe Space will fulfill its mission by:

  1. Providing and developing supportive services to meet the needs of adult and child survivors of domestic violence and sexual assault. These services include safe housing, court advocacy, system advocacy, and individual and group counseling.

  2. Creating awareness of domestic violence and sexual assault through community presentations and professional training focused on the causes and effects of violence, the prevention of the intergenerational cycle of violence, and the services available to the community.

  3. Building a coordinated community response to domestic violence and sexual assault that encourages citizen participation and interagency collaboration.

  4. Advocating for perpetrator accountability and re-education to deter abuses from future use of violence and to change their beliefs justifying relationship violence.

Executive Director
Monica Kearney, MSW


Monica Kearney has been the Executive Director of Safe Space, Inc. Domestic Violence/Sexual Assault services agency in Franklin County since 2014. She holds a Bachelor’s degree in Social Work from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro and a Master’s Degree in Social Work from the University of New England. Monica is currently pursuing a Ph.D. in Social Work from Walden University.

Monica has over twenty years of experience in the social work profession. Her roles have included nonprofit management, early childhood education, outreach, and community education.

Monica is a trailblazer for women and children and for those issues which impede their health and well-being. Her spirituality, family, and network of supportive friends, keep her grounded and are the source of her strength. Her life long personal and professional experiences fuel her passion and commitment to enhance programs for people who suffer from the traumatic experiences of child abuse, domestic violence, and sexual assault in Franklin County and adjacent communities.

Meet The Board

Jim Grove - Chair Emeritus
Todd Sanders - Board Chair
Dr. Rev. David Rosby - Board Vice Chair
Gwendolyn White - Secretary
Brittany Young
Marquee Debnam
Antrel Branch
Jim Moss
Amanda Braswell
Dananai Gardner, Esq
Helen Gilliam

We Need Your Support Today!

bottom of page